Cardiff Hawks Seniors, Season in Review

Our Season 2019 was successful on many fronts including:

  • Our Club is in a great shape with the new ground being a huge success in 2019
  • We have 20+ Sponsors contributing to the success of our club
  • Womens and Mens Cup teams made finals and performed well
  • Our Junior teams performed admirably with 2 junior premierships and growing numbers
  • New coaching structures in the Mens has been an outstanding success
  • Our Indigenous Round Event was a huge success and one to build on for 2020
  • Anzac Day Dawn Service and our Standalone game was a great day for club and country
  • Social Media Growth and Professional Hawks Newsletter consistency was a major boost
  • Senior Engagement with juniors continue to grow and get stronger
  • Our Family Friendly Club grows and prospers at our new home @ Pasterfield.
  • Committee, Coaches, Players, and Supporters all provided support during the season
  • Our Social Events enabled us to further unite our members
  • Ladies Day and Clarke Fundraising Day was outstanding

We would like to congratulate our newly accepted Life Members to the Cardiff AFC Hall of Fame:
Quinton Davis – 200 Senior Games for CAFC  (Past President and Premiership Player)
Adam Clarke – Conspicuous Service to the CAFC (Premiership player, Coach, Fitness advisor, and Sponsor)

We also have a fresh new Committee on board for 2020 bringing new faces and ideas to the team, and we have already started to plan and work towards an even more successful season next year.

Top place getters for Club Best and Fairest – Cup

  1. Simon O’Brien (41)
  2. Jared Campbell (35)
  3. Marcus DeLeur (31)
  4. Izaac Hughes
  5. Adam Clarke
  6. Pat Delaney

Top place getters for Club Best and Fairest – Women’s

  1. Matisse Coram-Parker (65)
  2. Sheree Vukovich (37)
  3. Emma Hieke (19)
  4. Hayley Wright
  5. Taylah Wilks

Top place getters for Club Best and Fairest – Plate

  1. Max Kozlik (29)
  2. Cameron Jones (23)
  3. Andrew Risby (21)
  4. Nicholas Kocon and Hamish Thomson

Other Medal Winners

Goal Kicking         Isaac Hughes
Most Consistent  Regan Bowe
Most Improved   Tom Lashie
Coach’s                Daniel Robinson
Player’s Player     Simon O’Brien
Rising Star            Daniel Robinson

Goal Kicking         Hayley Wright
Most Consistent  Sheree Vukovich
Most Improved   Emma Hieke
Coach’s                Tayla Grazules
Player’s Player     Matisse Coram-Parker
Rising Star            Matisse Coram-Parker

Goal Kicking         Arron Wivell
Most Improved   Ben Taylor
Encouragement   William Shippley
Coach’s                Joel Drabsch
Player’s Player     Peter Bleus

2020 Coaches

In some fantastic news for the club all senior coaches have committed to the 2020 season, and a large number of junior coaches have also been locked in.

Mens Cup Coaches:        Nick Tomlinson, Adam Clarke and Rowan Bilkey
Womens Coach:              Paul Cooklsey
Mens Plate Coach:          Andrew Risby

Club Awards:
Club Person of the Year                Ben Davis and Quinton Davis
Spirit of AFL Award                       Steve Edwards
People’s Hawk                               Mattie Vukovich

Special Thanks goes to:
Geoff Robinson – Photography
Brooke Hughes – Canteen
Warren Lovell – Physiotherapy
Paul Redman – Timekeeper
Liam Gibson – Media & Marketing
Chop Buchan – Various roles

We have attracted, and retained, some wonderful sponsors for whom we are so dependent, and we thank them immensely for their contribution and support to our great club. Without our sponsors we cannot operate, continually engage with our members, and grow.