Terrigal Avoca Senior Club, 2019 Season Review

Terrigal Avoca Award winners 2019

Men’s first grade:
Dez Mckenzie medal Best and fairest – Jack Grimmond-Lee
Runners up best and fairest – Sam Ellis
Best first year player – Michael roach
Most consistent – Josh Polglase
Leading goal kicker – Brandon Thomas

Women’s senior awards:
Obrien medal Best and fairest – Darneka Rowe
Joint Runners up best and fairest – Kirsty Hutton & Gabby Ralphs
Coaches award – Dee Richardson
Most consistent – Emily Smith
Leading goal kicker – Morgan Ross

Men’s reserve grade awards:
Dixon medal Joint Best and fairest – Ryan Shaw & Corey Billins
Runners up best and fairest – Jackson Farquhar & Mark Skuse
Best first year – Jack Delahunty
Most consistent – Damon Smith
Leading goal kicker – Matthew Studdert

Club awards:
Presidents award – Michael roach
Josh Bayliss Most courageous award (men’s) – Jayson van dam
Josh Bayliss Most courageous award (women’s) – Hannah Dankurt
Club person of the year – Ethan formby, Will Mckeller & Kurt Fleming

2019 Club Review

Season 2019 will be memorable for a lot reasons. On field our first grade got through the season with just the one defeat early in season, They adapted to everything thrown at them throughout the year.

The finals series was a hard fought affair firstly against Singleton in wet and boggy conditions where it was close all day and then in the grand final vs Newcastle it was a game of two halves where we asserted dominance early but then withstood a spirited Newcastle fight back in the second half to win a heart stopper by a couple goals. A very satisfying result considering how we ended last season.

Our reserve grade continued their dominant form from last season with another consistent and enthralling season with another undefeated season, which ended with a dominant performance in the grand final against Bateau Bay. A fantastic achievement from all our players and coaches to maintain their form throughout the season and perform the way they did

Our women’s team went from strength to strength this season putting in fantastic performances throughout the season and to make finals in just their second season was a magnificent achievement and one we are proud of. Whilst the finals result didn’t go our way the girls can hold their head up high and can only improve on the year just gone.

And finally our masters team made it a hatrick of premierships for our senior club with a hard fought win over hunter hornets. Being up by 4 goals at halftime saw us have a big enough lead to hold of the pirates by 3 goals. Being held goalless in the second half had us a bit nervous but we managed to hold on to go back to back which was a great team effort

Our juniors had some great team efforts as well with all competing teams making finals and bringing home two premierships in boys under 11 and girls under 12s.

A big thanks to all our committee and coaches and players and volunteers for their commitment throughout the year and hope to replicate it again next season.

Coaches Appointments 

We are pleased to announce our senior coaches for next season. Chris bishop has signed on for the first grade coach for a 12th season. A fantastic effort and it’s great to still see the passion to coach our group the same as it was when he started.

Our reserve grade is once again been fronted by the Studdert boys, Matthew and Michael. A tough job ahead to continue their extraordinary run the last two years but our squad will again be strong so expectations will be high once again.

Our women’s coach is Joel Patterson. Having been the team runner and assistant the last two seasons he has taken over the role from Jackson Farquhar with big shoes to fill. However he will do a fine job we are sure with a great squad of ladies to work with so good luck to Joel.

Our major sponsors are as follows 

Breakers country club
Cats Accountants
Hotondo Homes
Terrigal Electrical
Terrigal Ice Creamery
Delcare Constructions
Gosford Flyscreens
Barralong Road Mechanics

We like to thank each and every one of our sponsors for their contribution to our club. Local business support is invaluable to local sporting clubs as we couldn’t do it with out them

Committee Changes

Finally on the senior committee front we do have a few committee changes at the top. After 8 years as president Chris Aitken has decided to stand down to take on a less demanding role of Vice President. Colin Barker has been voted to be our new president. After beginning with us in 2012 he has been involved in our club ever since with roles as reserve grade manager and canteen manager and being on our committee

Elizebeth Tearall has taken on the role as secretary and Keegan Foley as our treasurer with Ryan Weber stepping down as secretary to take up the role as sponsorship coordinator

A busy off season and pre-season awaits as we gear up for another promising season ahead. Good luck to all teams within the panthers club